And The Weeds Grow On…

This is my second “installment” on weeds.  Really now, do we ever get totally finished with weeds?  I wish it were so.

Today my husband and I were cleaning out our front flower bed to prepare it for some “newcomers” on the scene.  We have what I call daisy bushes, though the garden expert at Home Depot had a different name for them.  We have a Gerber daisy plant that I’m trying to decide about planting.  We also have a tomato plant, which may have to find its home in the backyard due to the need for more direct sun.  We also are trying our hand at Cilantro and Oregano.  I’ve never grown herbs before so we’ll see how we do.

But, before we could plant the newcomers, we had to get rid of the unwanted guests…you guessed it, the weeds.  Now, I had cleaned this flower bed out…or pretty much cleaned it out when I planted bulbs last November and then again when those bulbs sprouted and became beautiful flowering plants.  But, still weeks after the last cleaning out there were many weeds with which to contend.

 

My favorite tool for this project is the “hoola hoe”.  I just simply attack that weed and the hoola hoe does the hard work.  But, interestingly enough, unless I go deep on the attack, all that happens is that the weeds rip out at the top of the ground instead of coming out at root level.

I could hear some of the weeds ripping apart as the visible weed was torn away from the roots.  It was quite a raw, gashing, torturous sound.  But still, though the flower bed looked better, the roots of those weeds remained. 

How very much like my life is that flower bed with it’s now hidden weed roots.  The surface may look good but if, when dealing with any sin issue in my life, I don’t let the Holy Spirit go deep enough and rip out the sin at its very root, the sin weed will assuredly grow back. 

If I don’t let Him deal with the source of my pride, it will continue to show its true colors at some unexpected, unpleasant time.

If I don’t let Him deal with any deep issues of pain, hurt, and bitterness, they will come right back and will do so even stronger because the roots will have had a chance to get stronger while they’ve been hiding unseen and unchecked.
height=”300″ class=”alignnone size-medium wp-image-681″ /><a

“Oh dear Father God, Holy Gardener of my heart, today please attack the roots of any sin that stands in the way of You having full and complete control in my life.  Don’t allow me to just let You have access to the surface of my life but to go deep and dig deep to remove what is not of You.  In the empty space that remains, fill me with Your beauty and make of my life what will be a sweet aroma to You.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 331 other followers

